<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Helena's Profile
Helena's family
Helena
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
57
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Helena's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought iron sheet (18900 KES) nails (3000 KES) timber and poles(18000 KES) labour (15000 KES) school fees (4000 KES) and the rest on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I have built a bigger house and moved from my small old house. I have made a step in life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 9,500KES school fees for my two children in secondary school and one in college.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet, timber and nails, and build an iron roofed house because my house is in poor condition. I also plan to buy seats to furnish my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy iron sheets, cement, nails, wood and round poles so that I can construct a new house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having worked in a stone quarry and making sisal, this enabled me to educate my children and provide for their basic needs.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face right now is lack of a steady source of income and this then means that I cannot easily afford to pay school fees for my remaining children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the evening when I am eating with my children and they tell me about their experiences during the day at school.