GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Isdorah's Profile
Isdorah's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent the whole of my second transfer on building an iron roofed. house
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of painting my house.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have a permanent house which doesn't need constant repair.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been able to plaster the walls and floor of my house and therefore I can clean my house comfortably and there are no more insects or crawling animals that hide walls.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid my daughter in high school 6,000 KES fee. I also use the remaining portion to medicate my spouse.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to replace the roof of my house with new iron sheets because the roof is too old and leaking. I'm also planning to buy a cow to serve as a remembrance of GD program.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer on buying iron sheets and cement to construct a new house. I also plan to use the transfer to pay school fees for my child who is in high school. I also plan to use the transfer to start a small business to help me gain more income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have tried so hard and built a house although it has become old. I managed to do this from my savings.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced is when my husband was diagnosed with kidney problem. I have to work extra hard to provide for my family because am now the only bread winner. This hasn't been easy for me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I manage to get food for the family. I feel proud when my family eat together.