chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Risper's Profile
Risper's family
Risper
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
43
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Risper's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying 25 pieces of iron sheets ksh 16250, 25 poles ksh 3750, round poles 25 ksh 3750 , nails 2500,labor ksh 3500,transport ksh 3000,school fees ksh 5000,school uniform ksh 6200 and used balance on meals .
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen is that now my children dress well and are in a good spacious house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on re-stocking my groceries business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on extending my current house, and buying a bull to support land preparation for food production in future.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to cement my house to make it look better. Finally l would l would wish to buy household items in my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled to cement the floor of my house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of money to pay school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the is when having supper with my children.