chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Francis's Profile
Francis's family
Francis
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Street trading - food (self-employed)
faceAge:
23
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Francis's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($364 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The biggest difference is that I can afford to put food on my table, buy new clothes, start a business and even save some money. This was never the case, I used to idle the entire day if construction works never opened up. Food was a precious commodity in my life, I interacted with it once a day. My clothes were old and torn and my house was made of iron sheets. Currently, I live in a stone built house all thanks to GD.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I am planning to become a prominent business person. Currently, I am saving every extra penny that I make as I look forward to a new business idea that I can invest in and get returns.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
When I received my recent transfer, I started supplying airtime to the shops around Mathare. I had realized a business gap and thought of feeling it before someone did. So I created rapport with the shopkeepers and gave them my word that I will deliver. With transfers, I bought airtime with wholesale prices and supplied.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($200 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I am looking forward to becoming a large supplier of milk to retail shops in my area of business. I intend to do this by using the next transfers in expanding my business by increasing the volumes of milk that I ideal in.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my life is moving from being employed to having my own business. I was working for someone as a milk distributor to retail shops but I started my own distribution business when I got the payments. This business has employed me and I look forward to a time when I will have expanded it and employ people to work for me too.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the money I received on establishing a milk business. I bought a handcart and milk crates to use in distribution. I then used KES 35000 as a deposit at a depot in order to acquire milk in wholesale. Some of the money was also used in getting the required documents from the public health office and business license to operate a milk business as a distributor. now a milk distributor. I am now an independent distributor.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
The moment I received money from GiveDirectly I knew that my life was set up for new levels of success in business. I had been working for someone in the milk business and earning a little but starting my own would be a good source of income. I was very excited at this thought of the new business possibility.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority is to expand my business of selling packet milk by increasing stock from the depot. I have the experience of this work and there is a ready market for my business which is profitable. My second priority is to start selling credit cards in wholesale. I did a survey and found a gap in the market from my area in these business. The demand is high because most people have phones and there are many shops around. I will also pay for my school fees. I am a student and I am doing accounting at Kenya Collage of Accountancy University.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is my health because being sick I will be unable to provide for my basic needs. Nowadays there are so many lifestyle diseases because of the food we take and this can lead to financial constraints making my life difficult. I may be unable to work which may cut down my ambitions of being a successful businessman in future. I am also concerned about gang violence and crime in my area. Opening a new business is a challenge because it can become a target of criminals. I may lose money or goods or even risk losing my life.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to become a successful businessman in future. I would want to invest in real estate business. The value of land and housing keeps appreciating because the demand is high and marketable. This will help cater for my needs and that of my family. I will also want to give back to society because there many people who are in need and want our support.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
My usual day starts at 4:30am when I wake up in the morning and have a word of prayer. At 5:00am I receive milk from my distributor and embark on my work to supply in the nearby shops in Mlango Kubwa using a handcart until 7:00am. After supplying I normally go around for collection of money until 11:00am. In my free time I like to relax with friends or reading novel's and business related articles or listening to music or doing community works sometimes like cleanups.