chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Dama's Profile
Dama's family
Dama
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
33
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Dama's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($535 USD)
access_time 11 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am proud to own a two cow in my homestead courtesy of GiveDirectlyt. I struggle to bring in assets that I can take pride in and lean on in case of financial needs but this had been challenging due to limited resources. My income has been too small to cater for both household daily needs and investments. I am currently keeping two cows with an aim that once they reproduce, I will have milk for both household consumption and sales. I will have offsprings which to me which I can always depend on in case of any financial crisis. To me having livestock in my homestead is the biggest difference in my daily life.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I received my transfer message notification early that morning and since I never expected it, I slowly took my phone to check the content of the new message. I was left so happy upon realizing that I had received such an amount from GiveDirectly. I knew the company could positively transform my life better.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on purchasing two cows at KES 30000 to keep at my homestead. My desire has been to rear livestock because they are assets that we can readily depend on. My children are still young and I am hopeful that through this, their education and other needs will be taken care of. In addition, I will also be benefiting from the milk both for household consumption and sales. I am in the process of constructing a new house after spending KES 15000 to purchase 20 pieces of iron sheets and building poles to facilitate. I made this decision since the one I was previously sheltering is in a bad state. I also spent KES 2000 to pay for my children's school fees to allow them to have humble time for their studies. I spent the remaining amount to cater for my household's needs and other expenses.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My husband is a herder but the cattle we keep do not belong to us since ours died in the 2016/2017 drought period. Receiving this money therefore means we will be able to buy our own livestock which is our main source of livelihood and meet our needs such as food and education with much ease.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest time of my day is in the morning because I no longer have to wake up early, my cowife lets me sleep in and does most of the chores because am heavily pregnant at the moment.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
After our livestock died during the terrible drought in the year 2016/2017, financial instability kicked in and it has been our major setback ever since. It affected our ability to sufficiently provide food, education among other basic needs for our family of 12 people. To date, only one of the children has been able to go up-to college level but still needs to clear some fee balances in order to get her certificate.