chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Perez's Profile
Perez's family
Perez
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
30
workCampaign
UBI
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($246 USD)
access_time 9 days ago
check
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
I have been mostly engaged in casual employment which generates some income on a monthly basis. I am quite happy with this opportunity because it keeps me going from one day to the next.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
I have a plan of buying a sewing machine which will generate cash for me going into the future once I get the business going. I have learned how to do sewing and I can say that currently, I have some expertise in this field. the only challenge that I have is getting the money that can enable me purchase the item.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
I have been able to get a big difference in my daily life because I have been able to boost my business by purchasing more of the raw materials which I use to generate cash from time.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
Starting another small scale business where I buy curtains from Eastleigh market in Nairobi and re-selling them in one of the Rich Estates such as Komarocks wheer there are plenty of customers demanding for such products.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
23675 KES ($235 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The money helped me in my farming projects. I am now settled, I no longer have financial stress.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
The machine will help me improve my business and definitely will change in the long run.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different because I am now able to cultivate my farm effectively and be proud of getting a bumper harvest at the end of the season.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a plan of buying a new sewing machine that is worth 15000 KES.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 1 year ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face is my current separation with my husband that has made me strain to provide for my daughter alone.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am with my daughter and the rest of the family, we have time to tell stories and share jokes.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy a sewing machine that I will use to start a tailoring business because I have the skills, I will use the money to buy food for my family and buy my personal necessities.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I was able to enroll for tailoring lessons and paid my fees with money I saved from my previous business of selling mangoes.