chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Felix's Profile
Felix's family
Felix
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
19
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Felix's next check-in.
 
7th Payment
Transfer Amount
2280 KES ($22 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
Since I depended on casual work and village odd jobs, I was not able to raise enough money to improve the status of my life. I could not depend on my parents for everything after they struggled to take me to school. I had to find a way to survive. I used to sleep on bedding I had in school because I never had money to buy new ones. They were old and my blanket was torn. This really caused me uncomfortable sleep at night, especially during the rainy season and I also had to borrow clothes from my friends anytime I wanted to go for a journey. Right now, I feel very proud because I have new bedding and clothes. I do sleep well and I don't have to beg anymore for clothes.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
As I continue with my course, I want to ensure I also take my siblings to school. I know the benefits of studying hence I will share the little i get to pay their school fees. I know once they are done with studies, they will get well payingb jobs to support me as I will also do to them.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
The biggest difference in my life since I started receiving this transfer is that I am currently on a course which will help me geta job to give me an income. I am not idle anymore as I used to because I lacked what to do. After my secondary school, I did not have money to further my studies so I was just at home doing odd jobs for a living. Since I started receiving these transfers, I registered for a mechanic course which is completing this year. I know my life will be better after the course because I will be getting an income from a mechanic job. I really appreciate GD.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months, I want to finish my course so that I can finally start earning. I have already secured a place where I will work. I will ensure I use my yransfers wisely to pay both my fees and that of my siblings and come next year if all goes well, I will be financially stable. This will help me sustaing my needs and that of my sibling.
 
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
4560 KES ($45 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life since I started receiving money from GiveDirectly is that I'm proud I'm developing skills in welding. If it wasn't for GD, I would be idling back at home.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months, I expect to be perfect in welding and start practicing it.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from the way it would have been had I not received money from GD in that I now have skills in welding and I believe in the near future I'll have perfected my skills at it.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I do not have a new goal instead I want to concentrate on welding training.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship has has been lack of school fees that has forced me to drop out, after the death of my father who was the main provider in the family, life changed and i had no option but to drop.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is mid morning when we share and work in the farm as afamily, to me it symbolises unity in the family.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to go back to school and sit for my form four, i dropped out in form three after my fathers death.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement so far is passing my kcpe exams, i scored 285marks and joined alocal day school before i was forced to dropped out.