chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Irene's Profile
Irene's family
Irene
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
House staff (works for others)
faceAge:
25
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Irene's next check-in.
 
7th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($48 USD)
access_time 18 days ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life has changed in that I was able to boost my business. There were high chances of business collapsing. I am glad that Give Directly came through because it has picked up and I have been able to assist my family through the profits I get from it. Very soon I will be able to go back to college. I had dropped out of college due to lack of fund to facilitate my studies. I was the one paying all my bills by doing casual jobs at the same time finding time to study which ended up not working. I am a proud girl because I can manage to save for my ultimate goal of going back to school to finish my studies.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I do not have a new goal at the moment. I want to keep on saving so that I accumulate enough money to pay my college fee. I used to depend on casual jobs in order to pay my college fees. Since such jobs are usually unreliable I ended up dropping out of school. Since I am a beneficiary of Give Directly, I now have hopes of finishing my studies. The certificate will help me get formal employment. This will help me improve my family's living standards and also educate my younger siblings.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my transfer to boost my business. I normally distribute sweets to the local shops in our area and the nearby neighborhood. I have been depending on this business for a long time now and seeing it improve has made me happy. I also saved some amount hoping to join college. I dropped out of college because of lack of funds. I had to pay for myself because my parent doesn't work. I had to do odd jobs to take care of all my needs including paying school fees but it reached a point where it was overwhelming and I had to defer my studies.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($49 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goal is to save part of the profits I am getting out of distributing candy and GiveDirectly's transfers as well. I am planning to use these savings, to start a second-hand business because this business involves exporting second-hand clothes from Turkey through my aunt's assistance which will also earn me as income.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Before GiveDirectly came, I was a cleaner and this odd job had various challenges such as meagre payment and hectic as well. The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have started my own business of distributing candy in shops and now I am making my own money. Through these profits, I am making without being mistreated by anyone gives me happiness and self-satisfaction. I am the most self-empowered person because my life is now better than before.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the larger part of my money to boost my candy vending business 2,500 KES which I distribute to various shops in Nairobi that include Mathare, Dandora and south B Estates. The remaining amount I bought food for my family's consumption and saved too.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I received my first bunch of money at 12:00 am in the morning . This was the happiest day of my life and relieving as well because I was certain of getting GiveDirectly's monthly transfers for two years in a monthly basis that would definitely have a positive impact in my life through starting an income generating business to smoothen my day to day basic needs. Receiving this transfer is also proof that GiveDirectly fulfils promises which I was doubtful of.
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority is to start distributing and selling of sweets in retail shops around Mathare. There is no competition for this work and is profitable. Secondly, I will use this transfer to return back in college. I was studying sales and marketing but I was unable to continue due to financial constraints. Lastly, I will spend my money on food.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is lack of a stable source of income because it will be very difficult for me to survive. I will be unable to sustain my life and I may end up borrowing or engage in prostitution to make ends meet. Paying rent for my house may become a problem and it may result to beg for a place to sleep or be forced to leave upcountry.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I would want to be a successful business woman in future having a big hardware. I will be selling construction accessories all over the country. The demand is high because there's infrastructural development in county governments due to devoIution. I would also want to invest in real estates, build my house as well as rental houses. This will improve my life and that of my family.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
I normally wake up early in the morning at 5:00am, take bath, do housechores,prepare breakfast and then I leave for work before 8:00am. I wash clothes in homes at eastleigh in our neighbouring constituency until 5:00pm in the evening. I return back home, take bath, prepare for supper and then I retire to sleep. In my free time I practice and learn about computers in a nearby cyber cafe, watch movies or sometimes visit friends.