GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Phillia's Profile
Phillia's family
Phillia
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
22
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Phillia's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 iron sheets at 19,500 KES, one still door at 8,500 KES, four still windows at 9,200 KES, nails at 1,500 KES, a sack of maize at 3,800 KES, one blanket at 900 KES, one solar lamp at 800 KES, paid 4,000 KES school fee for my two brothers-in-law then used the rest on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My children are now dressing in a smart way.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token on a mattress (3800), basins (1200), clothes (2000), school fees (2000) and food (800).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy building materials and build a new house in my own compound.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like spend the first portion of my transfer on school fees.I would also like to buy seeds and fertilizers inorder to prepare for the planting season.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I am a committed paultry farmer and it is through this project that I have managed to educate my kids beyond primary level.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is how to raise school fees and how to find food for my kids since I only depend on farming as my main source of livelihood.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when doing productive work like weeding as I'm able to see how my crops are growing.