chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Damaris's Profile
Damaris's family
Damaris
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
66
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Damaris's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the whole of the first lumpsum transfer in catering for the cost of building an iron roof house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now have a bigger house that can easily fit my family members.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I cleared secondary school fees balance for my son using the whole of my token payment.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a better iron-roofed house using my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer to build a new house because my house is small and old, plaster it so that I can live in a clean place, pay my son's university school fee and start livestock rearing that can help me with emergencies.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that my son is currently in the University pursuing his bachelors degree in medicine. I am happy because I know he has a brighter future and it's because of our effort.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am facing in life is that I lack a reliable source of income and my spouse is too old to engage in hard jobs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I return home from work with some little income for my family.