GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Casual labor
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($440 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was in the bush alone collecting firewood in preparation for dinner for the family. I still remember it was around 5 p.m. when I received a loud message alert on my mobile phone. Being illiterate, I could not understand its content. After about an hour, I reached home and decide to give the phone to the helper to interpret them. I felt extremely happy and thanked God when she finally revealed that I had received the transfer. We together celebrated the cash aid that meant a lot of transformation in our living standards.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The fact that I am currently enjoying peace of mind is the biggest difference. At the moment, my kids are learning without any challenge unlike before when they were spending most of their time at home due to school fees arrears. In addition, we can get our daily meals without having to skip them or spend an entire day without food.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
With a family of 13 members that are 11 children, I and my spouse meeting the family's basic have been a great challenge owing to the fact that we are all jobless. The casual job of charcoal vending is what we depend on to raise the family. The aid from Givedirectly was a great relief to our financial burden. After receiving the transfer, I spent $140 of it to support the education of our 9 kids who are both in primary and secondary school. They had a huge fee arrears that were making them to be out of school most of the time something that bothers my heart. Nowadays, I am happy and relieved that they are continuing with their studies without being discontinued. In addition, I used $120 to start a goat rearing by purchasing 4 goats as a future investment for the kids. I will be selling them once they multiply to further their education. Furthermore, I bought proper bedding for the kids since they were spending their nights on the floor with rags. Lastly, I used the remaining amount to start the process of connecting tap water to our home.
access_time 4 months ago
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
A separate structure for my children is the biggest desire that I have at the moment. Imagine sharing a house with my grown-up children! This is culturally not allowed and it has lowered my dignity as a mother. With this money, I intend to spend a big portion of my money ($400) to ensure I construct a house for them. This will earn back my respect, also it will make me live a happy life. In addition, I will buy new beddings to replace the old ones which are currently rugged. With the second transfer, I will buy 5 goats for $200 and the remaining amount will support my children's education. Therefore, this is generally what receiving this money means to me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
With the many responsibilities I have in the family, I find it a privilege to me being healthy all through the last 6 months. This has given me the energy to continue doing my casual work to provide for the very basic needs of my family. Despite having challenges financially, I still thank God for keeping me safe. Therefore, I consider this as what has brought me joy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Taking care of my family of 11 members is a big burden to me because it requires a lot of effort to provide all the basic needs. Considering the nature of jobs in our area being casual and energy-intensive, my charcoal and manganese work never earn me much, usually $40 per month. This means my husband also have to go extra mile in his casual jobs to supplement the income. Due to this challenge, my children have been missing classes and forfeiting some meals, a situation that has affected their studies. Therefore, I consider financial instability as my biggest challenge.