<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jacob's Profile
Jacob's family
Jacob
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
26
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Jacob's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on paying a deposit for my carpentry machine ksh 30000 and 25 pieces of iron sheets ksh 15500
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen is that am soon going to be able to own my own workshop and house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 6,000KES on buying a goat and a sheep, and 1,800KES on buying 3 chicken for keeping.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy a machine for making patterns on furniture for my carpentry work.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying a machine that can be used in cutting timber so that I can process timber, I will also rear chicken for eggs, I will also build a bigger house as the one I have is very small and the remaining amount I will use to start a business of shopkeeping.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have been able to go to college and did a course in woodwork using money from my farm.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is I don't have a stable source of income and I am forces to depend on others for financial assistance.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to my farm to plough it in the morning,I feel happy to know that I will get a good harvest.