chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Maurice's Profile
Maurice's family
Maurice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Maurice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a cow at 19,500KES, two roles of barbed wire at 11,000KES, 40 fencing poles at 10,000KES, two seats at 8,000KES then used the rest on food in the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now expecting milk from my own cow and hippopotamus won't be a nuisance anymore once I fence my farm using the barbed wire.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a metal door with 7,000KES, and spent 2000KES on buying dry maize for our consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy materials and enlarge my house, because it is currently small. I also plan to buy barbed wire and fence my home.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying wire mesh so that I can fence my home because we are usually attacked by hippopotamus due to our proximity to the lake and they have destroyed my crops on several occasions. I will use part of the transfer to buy a piece of land elsewhere so that I can move because my hone is usually flooded when it rains and part of it I will also use to pay school fees for my children. The remaining amount I will use to pay part of the remaining dowry for my wife.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I struggled so hard to build my first house as I used to stay in a house made of twigs but I got money from my fishing business that I used to build my house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that my children are usually sent away from school due to lack of school fees and currently my income is very low to meet their basic needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to the lake in the morning to do fishing and come back with a big catch,am happy because my family will have food to eat.