chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Robert's Profile
Robert's family
Robert
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
27
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Robert's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
23675 KES ($235 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is the ability to own a cow and having a beautiful home. I am planning marry very soon and having a well furnished house was my biggest dream come through. I can now welcome my friend without feeling left out.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I am planning to diversify my sources of income. I want to rent a piece of land and plant my own beans.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am happier and so fulfilled by this transfer. A few things are currently different. I have my own cow which could have taken me ages to buy, were it not for Give Directly to think about people like us out here. I am really excited that my life will no longer be the same.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
The plan that has just crossed my mind after receiving Give Directly transfers is marriage. I am planning to have my house spark in to life very soon. I am still wrapping up a few thing before introducing my pride to my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 months ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have ever faced in my life is that I was not able to continue with my education. This is because I could not understand the lessons that were being taught. Even though my parents were able to pay for my fees, I had to drop out and as a result, my dreams of becoming a teacher could not be achieved. Currently, I rely on the proceeds from my chicken so that I can meet my needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning because this is the time that I am filled with energy and I can do some farming so that I can provide for myself.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
When I receive my transfers, I am planning to use part of the money to buy livestock which will cost me approximately 24000 shillings. The other amount will be used in hiring a piece of land which shall be used in farming
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My greatest achievement is that I have managed to build a house. I am now able to plan ahead because I have a place to call my own.