GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Alex's Profile
Alex's family
Alex
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
57
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Alex's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 15,000KES fees for my son in the university. I also spent 24,400KES on buying iron sheet for building an iron roofed house, and 6,000KES on maize for consumption. I paid 3,500 school fees for my child my in secondary school, and spent 1,500KES on buying 3 pairs of gumboots, paid 1,400KES fees for the children in primary school, spent 3,000KES on weeding my crops, and the remaining on food and groceries.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was able to send my son to the university and pay school fees for tyhe others in secondary and primary school.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a sack of maize @ 2,400KES and paid 2,000KES for school fees. I also bought a matress @ 4,500KES and plastic sandals @300KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to pay school fees for my son in the university because he has been sent away due to arrears and is currently at home. I also plan to buy building materials: ironsheet, timber and nails, and build an iron roofed house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on hiring workers that will plough my farm so that it can be ready for planting season, I will pay school fees for my child who is in university and the other who is in secondary school,I will also spend part of the transfer on buying iron sheets that I will spend on building my roof so that when it rains I am not rained on due to leakage from my grass thatched roof and the remaining amount I will spend on buying a sewing machine for my son so that he can start a sewing business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I have been doing farming for many years and this has enabled be to get food that I feed my family with and for this I count as an achievement.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that getting school fees for my kids so that they can remain in school and learn is a challenge as I don't have a stable source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to my farm in the morning to plough it and the crops that I had planted do well,I am happy as this is my source of food.