chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > John's Profile
John's family
John
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
50
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($467 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I used my last transfer to install electricity in my house to help me with lighting and charging my phone, I also fitted windows and doors after building my house with the second transfer I built a house because I used to live in my brothers house but now I have my own home I also bought sand a lorry to plaster the floor
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying 3 steel doors at 20,000 KES,paid my wife's house rent (she is a laborer in Nairobi)amounting to 20,000 KES and bought 2 steel windows at 9,600 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference my life is being able to build to put up a house in my own compound.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token to buy clothes for my household KES 5000, gave my child in college pocket money KES 1000, bought maize KES 1500 and food KES 2380.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build my own house with my upcoming lump-sum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to complete the building of my house
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am most proud of is completing my secondary education which helped me get a job in a security firm with which I could provide for my family
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is loosing my job in the security firm. This made it difficult to cater for my family and was forced to return home
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am done with my casual labours and now resting