chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
28
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($469 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third on buying two bulls for ploughing and the remaining on food for my family consumption. My wife also started a business of selling second hand clothes that enables us feed our family with more ease.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($484 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
From my first transfer, I bought a purse at 4,000 KES, bought drugs at 500KES, Kept 5,000 KES aside as savings and the remaining 350 I spent to buy food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to spend my second transfer to build my house
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the money to pay dowry to my late co-wife to allow me pay my dowry. Secondly l would wish to pay dowry to my parents to appreciate them. I would also like to open up a business to generate income to sustain my family. Finally l would like to use the rest of the money to build a new home.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is l used to stay in my co-wife ' house but I have built my own house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of low source of income to open up a business to generate income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the is in the evening when telling stories with my grandmother and sharing a lot.