chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Grace's Profile
Grace's family
Grace
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other (self-employed)
faceAge:
29
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Grace's next check-in.
 
14th Payment
Transfer Amount
3997 KES ($40 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have been living in a rental house for the past three years now. The little income I used to get from a small foodstuff business, was only for ensuring we have what to eat in the house. I could not manage to buy new household items on my own. We used to sit on jerricans since I was not able to buy seats and the bedding we had, were old and torn. I would really pitty my children especially in the rainy season. This is why I decided to first improve the status of my house by buying new bedding and seats. Anytime I walk into my house, I see GD because I would not have had the items without the transfers.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal for the next transfers is to continue saving. My desire is to buy a motorcycle which will be my main source of income long after the transfers are gone. I would want to have a stable source of income that will be able to help me sustain my family needs well even in the future.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfer on buying school requirements such as books, uniform, shoes for my son who was joining primary school for the first time this year. I have been saving part of my transfers for the same purpose and used my last transfer to top up my savings. I am glad I was able to have all the requirements he needed in time because of the transfers.
 
12th Payment
Transfer Amount
3997 KES ($39 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I had the tailoring business long before GD came to work in our area. It was not doing well because I used a very small amount of money to start the business. I did not have good equipment and the stock for materials too was very low. In most cases, I would only look for loans to add more stock which was really hard to pay since the business was not giving much. The business was not bringing any profit until I started investing part of my transfers from GD. Right now, I have my own materials and in as much as I do not have quality equipment, I have what I need for the business. All these were made possible because of GD transfers.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
Currently, I bought a television on a hire purchase basis. I have been paying for it for the last three months and I should be done paying for it next month. So, for now, I am focussed in ensuring I finish paying for the television as soon as possible with part of the transfers.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfer on boosting my tailoring business. I used the transfer to buy more materials which I will use in attracting customers to my shop. As we approach the festive season, I know customers will come for new clothes and I want to be ready before they go elsewhere for the same services.
 
8th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($49 USD)
access_time 12 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Owning a motorcycle has been my dream for a long time but since I didn't have enough income I couldn't purchase it. I believe it is a good business because It is like a basic commodity in this area. People have to travel on a daily basis which makes it a lucrative business. I'm happy through the GiveDirectly transfers my life will improve. Definitely, my life would have not improved this much had I not received the transfers from this institution.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
Currently, I have an additional goal of purchasing a motorcycle so that I can have an additional source of income. I really thank Give Directly for instilling an ambitious attitude in me by giving me the unconditional transfers. Initially, I never made plans. I never had long term goals because I did not have a reliable source of income. The fact that I have a sustainable source of income at the moment gives me hopes that my goals and dreams are valid.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I'm a tailor by profession but I feel I still haven't met a lot of my needs because my current income isn't that much. It is enough to cater for daily basic needs but not long term goals. I have therefore saved the recent transfer so that I can use it in the future to purchase a motorcycle. I plan to employ someone to operate it for taxi services. The income I'll be earning from the motorcycle will come in handy in paying school fees for my children. It will be wise if I start saving the profits from the motorcycle business now so that when they get to secondary school they'll have enough money for their school fee.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($50 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goal is to buy more machines for my tailoring business. Currently I have one old machine and the daily income from the business is little and I am struggling to pay school fees for my children and buy food for my family. I will therefore employ other people and will also increase the income that I will get from the business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my life is that I have cemented my house. In the past, I used to live in a mad-walled house and during the rainy season, the house could get wet and my children risk getting cold and flu. I am now happy since my house no longer get wet during the rainy season and it is even warm at night and I no longer worry about the health of children. My life is also different in that I have a source of income since I used part of transfers to start a new business where I sell fish. I used to depend only on tailoring and the income I got was not enough to meet all my family needs. This business is thus an additional source of income to cater for other family basic needs.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used my most recent transfer to Improve my house. I have been living in a mad-walled house and during the rainy season the water gets into our house and this predisposes my children to cold and flu. I have been saving my money since I started receiving my transfer and I can now improve my house. I decided to cement the house to avoid rain water getting in to our house since we are approaching the rainy season.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
It was in the morning when I received a message notification on my phone that I have received my transfers from Give Directly. I was preparing to go to my shop and I was so happy since I had planned earlier to use my transfers to improve my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 1 year ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I prioritize like that because my rural home is a flood zone and I don't have a permanent house. So if I get this transfer I will first go and build a permanent house that is flood resistance so that even during floods am comfortable and safe. Secondly, I will invest more money in my business of tailoring so that I can have more profit and stable income to sustain myself and my family. Lastly, I will also send my parents back at home some money to support themselves and for food.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is unemployment because right now the Kenyan economy is high for a normal person. Without a job as a parent can be very tricky because it means your kids lack some nececities. Secondly sickness worries me slot because there are many sickness in today's world and they are very expensive to treat and may lead to death due to poverty. Lastly, crime within the slums has caused many people their lives and one can't know when they will be victims.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition in life is to be a nurse because I love helping people and this will give me a good opportunity since I will be working within the community.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
In the morning once I wake up I make tea them prepare my kid for school. After that I finish with household chores, then I cook lunch and leave for my business of tailoring at around 10am. I will work up-to 9pm in the evening then go back home cook for my family we eat rest for few hours then go to bed later.