chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Dorcus's Profile
Dorcus's family
Dorcus
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Street trading - non-food (self-employed)
faceAge:
27
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Dorcus's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
37152 KES ($363 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I really had a huge desire to further my studies but I was unable to continue after my relative who had promised to pay my college fees changed his mind. Because my mother was unable to raise the fees on her own, I had to look for another way to take care of myself and forget about college. When I received the first transfer, I was eventually able to go back to college because I am now able to pay my own fees. I am very grateful to the organization for the opportunity because I am sure I would not have managed to continue with my studies without the money.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I am currently working and going to school part-time in the evenings, but what I earn from my job is very little and therefore not enough to cater to my personal and school needs. For this reason, I have plans of setting up a cereals business which I will employ someone to run while I continue with my daily program. I will need to have a stable source of income after this project so that I can keep paying for my school fees which is why I need the business.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I joined college in January this year to take a course in Social Work but had to drop out three months later after my relative who had promised to pay the fees withdrew the financial support. When I started receiving these transfers, I decided to go back to continue from where I left because I could now afford to pay my own fees. With part of the most recent transfer, I paid part of this semester's fees and bought some household items as I had just moved into my own house away from my mother's house. I still have the rest of the money saved for future business plans.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($194 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to have a business premise. I want to employ one youth who will help me to run my business. Having a business structure will guarantee me more income as compared to hawking because I will attract new customers.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am very happy knowing that I have completed paying my college fees. It was a heavy burden that I had been caring for some time now. Before then, I could find time and hawk in college and in the neighborhood in order to reduce the amount because I did not want to drop out of school. I am glad that I will be sitting for my final exams next month. I feel stress-free and being able to have more time to focus on my studies is amazing. Thanks to GiveDirectly.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Reaching my goal of finishing college has been my main focus for a long time. There was nothing that came my way which could discourage me. I had huge pending fee arrears which I had been struggling to pay and so when I received my first transfer, I used a large portion of it to clear the fee balance. I am glad that now my mind is settled and focused on studies unlike before where I could find time hawk in college and even in the neighborhood in order to reduce the fee balance. My mother is a casual laborer. She has to take care of most of the basic and secondary needs with the little amount of money that she gets from the odd jobs which were not even enough. She also had to pay school fees for my younger siblings and for these reasons, I could not count on her to pay my college fee. I am just waiting to sit for my final exam next month. The remaining amount was spent on paying rent.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
The moment I received the transfer I felt very happy because I knew that I will be able to take care of my needs easily. The fact that the money is conditional was a reminded that I could use it to meet the goals that I have always wanted to accomplish. I could only thank GiveDirectly for the blessing.
 
Enrolled
access_time 12 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I will invest in my handbag business, rent a shop and add more stock with a variety of handbags and sleepers.I am yet to find a suitable place to rent the shop but I might go for Mlango Kubwa stalls or at Eastleigh. Once the business grows I will hire someone to be attending the shop while I still hawk because I am used to it. Income for my business will enable me pay for my basic needs and save for other future priorities. Secondly I want to renovate my mothers house here in Mathare. The roof top has holes and whenever it rains its hard for us to sleep or even stay in the house. I will buy iron sheets, cement and pay for labour of the renovations with the transfer. Lastly I will buy a washing machine and start a laundry business. I noticed many people in Mathare wash their clothes manually with hands and it's time consuming and draining.I will provide affordable laundry services to the residents and get an income from it.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is not achieving my ambitions. My whole family has been raised in slums and my grandparents are also still here. I have been raised with a lot of difficulties and up to now my mother still struggles to make ends meet.I used to miss school due to lack of school fees but luckily I managed to involve myself with the community and started my journey in activism. This has helped me get a lot of opportunities including a bursary with Zetech University where I now pertake a course in social work. My parents have really struggled to ensure that me and my siblings are able to get our basic needs. I do not want my children to go through the same life as me. I want to be able to give them the good life, but also come back to the community use my social work degree and skills to assist in eradicating poverty and inspiring the youth in Mathare.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I want to prosper in business and be a successful business woman.I will expand my hand bag business by opening different shops and import different women accessories and outfits to sell in my stores across Nairobi. I will buy a house and meet my needs using the income from my businesses. I want to finish my education,be able to use my social work degree to acquire a job, and use that knowledge in the community by inspiring other young people through activism, in educating my society on gender equity and judicial killings. I will also give back to the community by opening a girl based center for young ladies in Mathare who are affected by crime and gender based violence, give counseling and help them plan for a better future.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
On my usual day I wake up early in the morning, prepare breakfast then do my house chores up to around 10:00am. I then take my hand bags and sleepers and start hawking around Mathare and its environs. Apart from hawking I also make deliveries but this depends on the place of meeting with my clients. I then head back home at around 6:30 in the evening, prepare food, watch TV then head to bed and sleep. Whenever my stock is finished my daily routine changes, so I wake up,prepare breakfast and head to Kamkunji market where I purchase my bags at a whole sale price. I then come back home clean the house, eat lunch then start hawking my bags and sleepers until evening. I barely have free days or time but when I do its on Sundays and I go to church till noon then visit my boyfriend and spend time with him till evening.