chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Hellen's Profile
Hellen's family
Hellen
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
34
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying building materials(20 iron sheets at 12000 KES,timber at 16000 KES and steel door 7000 KES).I also paid school fees of 5000 kES for my child and started a fish business with 10000 KES.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have new goals of buying a cow and a goat.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because my child is in school because of the fees I paid.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the transfer to pay dowry so l bought 2 cows at 28000 kshs, l also paid fees of 16000 kshs to my child in form three, the remaining balance of 4000 kshs l spend to add into my business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has really change because l am eating well, my children are dressing well because my business has improve so much.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I purchased a sack of maize for family consumption. I also expanded my cereal business with the rest of the amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new iron roofed house with larger portion of the transfer. I'm also planning to invest the rest in livestock.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We have planned to expand our house which is small and can not accommodate the whole family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement has been educating my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that I have no proper job so keeping all my children in school at the same time is very difficult.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am working.