chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Michael's Profile
Michael's family
Michael
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Transport (works for others)
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Michael's next check-in.
 
12th Payment
Transfer Amount
3997 KES ($39 USD)
access_time 25 days ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Before I got enrolled in this program, I had no stable source of income as I was only involved with manual construction jobs for my daily bread. The jobs were mostly unreliable since one is not assured of working all days such that there were days you would stay at home without any income. My life is now different because I have a stable income from running my own clothes business courtesy of Give Directly. I can now comfortably meet my daily needs without worry while also making myself busy and useful most of the times.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
Am very happy with the current position of my business as it provides for most of my needs through the profits I realize from it. What I am not satisfied with is the area of trade which is temporary and associated with low prices. No customer can pay a decent amount for any product in this area which forces me to sell the clothes at a lower price. I am hoping that I will one day move to a better commercial centre where there are better offers on commodities which means better profits. For this reason, I am now doing my best to save enough money to rent a stall near the lavish estates where other friends of mine in this line of business have confessed to be making better profits.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Since I had already paid my rent in advance from the previous transfer, I used the entire amount of Ksh 3900 I received this month to revamp my clothing business by buying more stock. This is aimed at increasing the amount of income from this business which can eventually enable me to upgrade into better business premises away from the temporary premises that I am currently trading at.
 
8th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($49 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I was facing a lot of pressure from my landlord for some time because raising my rent from my little income was difficult. We were in constant quarrels but now life is different because I have been loyal in paying my rent on time unlike before. Had it not been GiveDirectly coming to us, then I would be still in trouble with the landlord over rent payment.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is that currently, I am looking for better opportunities from which I can generate more income. I am partnering with my uncle to save enough money to purchase a posho mill. I am assured that once we acquire this, we will be providing services in our locality and earn extra income from the business out of this.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent a portion of my most recent transfer on paying for my house rent, which amounted to KSH 1500. I can now comfortably pay for my rent unlike before, where I would default for some months due to the meagre income that I was getting from the casual jobs that I do daily. I also did shopping on foodstuffs and other household expenses at KSH 2000. I saved the rest of the money to enable me to meet my future financial needs.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($50 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goals now that I have started receiving the money is to go to college and study a course in mechanical engineering. I have always had a passion for repairing cars and it is now my wish to fulfill my dream. When I will be through with my studies, I will open a garage where I will be able to put into practice my knowledge gained in school. By doing so, I will be getting some income on a daily basis which I will be using to cater for my needs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life since I started receiving payments from GiveDirectly is that I now pay my house rent unlike before. Before GiveDirectly came for enrolment, my parents used to pay my house rent most of the months since I do not have any work to do. I am now glad because this has greatly changed.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my most recent transfer to pay my house rent since I did not have money to use in paying it. I decided to use them to pay my house rent since my parents used to pay for me most of the months and I wanted to give them a helping hand. I always depend on what I get at the end of the day to buy food and I usually sleep hungry when I do not find any work to do. Because of this, I used the remaining amount to buy some food to last me for some time.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I felt so happy the moment I started receiving my money since I knew that it was just but the beginning to an end of my problems. This money gave me hope that I will no longer be depending on my parents to pay for my house rent.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I will spend my transfers to pay my rent. I work as a part-time tout where I assist Public Service Vehicle conductors to fill their vehicles with passengers. What I earn is never enough for my rent on most months. I will therefore spend my transfers to add to my rent. Secondly, I will spend my transfers to provide upkeep for my 6 year old daughter who lives in her maternal home. My daughter's mother who was once my girlfriend, got an employment opportunity in Saudi Arabia. She has worked there for 4 years now. My daughter lives in her maternal home, where I provide her upkeep. Finally, I will spend my transfers to purchase my own household goods and amenities such as soap, toothpaste and foodstuffs.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is illness because it leaves me feeling helpless especially on instances when I am broke and I cannot afford medication to treat me, or even afford to go to a hospital. I have to struggle alot with pain on such days before I find any assistance. My second concern is daily sustenance in terms of rent. I am concerned about a situation where I would fail to my rent. This can make me homeless as I will have to be kicked out of my home. It is a miserable and bad feeling to be homeless. Finally my other concern is Family, in terms of my daughter lacking any of her basic needs. I always want my daughter to have all the fundamental amenities she needs in life, and more; the basic ones include food, clothing and shelter. I try hard to provide for her needs, I would feel bad if she ever lacks anything because I was unable to provide.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambitions are to go back to school and complete my automotive course, so I can own a large Garage in Eastleigh area, and eventually own a chain of mechanical garages in Eastleigh and Ngara areas of Nairobi County. I also hope to have a family someday and raise a good, happy family with my good income from my future garages.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
My usual day begins at 4:00 AM when I wake up and get ready for the days' work. My work involves assisting conductors to fill their vehicles with passengers, and calling out passengers to board these vehicles. I do this for a few hours in the morning up to 9:00 AM. I only work at rush hour. From there, I head back to my neighbourhood to hang around with my friends until evening, when i head back to my house. I prepare and take dinner, and then I go to bed waiting for the next day's job. In my free time, I enjoy swimming and watching action movies.