GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Phoebe's Profile
Phoebe's family
Phoebe
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Phoebe's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the transfer to build my house so l bought building materials at 33780 kshs, labor-charge 5500 kshs, transport 1100 kshs, l bought 2 sacks of maize at 6000 kshs the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l was staying in a very small house but now l am in a spacious house
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I never had a mattress and therefore I spent 3000 KES of my token payment on a mattress, 3000 KES on 5 iron sheets then I settled my debts using 4000 KES of the transfer.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I have small house and therefore I will construct a more spacious one and should I remain with some of this my upcoming lumpsum payment, I will start general shop/ kiosk.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to expand my house since its very small and my children are not fitting well. I will also like to set up a business
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I had longed so much to buy a high density mattress and when I got some money from a group I bought it. So when I sleep on it I feel happy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that I have been sick and I keep sicking treatment from one place to another.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am washing my clothes since I do it with a lot of passion