chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Syprose's Profile
Syprose's family
Syprose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Syprose's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer, I built a semi-permanent house of 30 iron sheets with 30000 KES, I gave my mother-in-law 10000 KES and I saved the remaining 10000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Initially, I lived in a rental house where I could not save and invest in anything but when I received transfers and built my own house, I have been able to increase my savings, the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4000 KES of my token payment on a mattress, 2000 KES on a goat, 1500 KES on a bucket and the remaining 3500 KES of the transfer on a solar panel.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a semi-permanent house of 3 rooms using my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build a house because we do not have our own house. Secondly l would wish to open up a business to generate income to sustain my family. Finally l would like to use the rest of the money to buy a cow which will help us incase of any emergency.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that through farming we are able to buy household items.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of shelter for my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when working in my farm and my crops are doing well knowing that I will get good harvest.