chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Peter's Profile
Peter's family
Peter
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Peter's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($364 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My current life has a great difference with how it would have been if I had not gotten the money. I am now running my own business thanks to GD's transfers I no longer idle. It had been my desire to get married but I never had the resources to pay the bridal price and even maintain my household once I got married. But now, I have managed to get married and I am a very happy man thanks to GD.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I have a new goal to lease a plot so that I construct stalls which I will be renting out the business people. This will help increase my income and even venture in real estate business.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the money I received from GD in purchasing two goats which cost me around 20000 KES to rear, I also spent 10000 KES in the construction of a new house and used. I saved 6000nKES and the remaining 800 KES I spent on starting a small business where I am buying and selling eggs.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($200 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goal is to open up other shoe shops and even acquire a stall in Gikomba market where I can sell more shoes. I intend to use my coming transfers and the proceeds from my current business to achieve this goal. I also hope to own shops and stalls that I can rent out to other sellers at a fee.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am no longer idle like I used to be. I now have my own business and my days are now busy. I feel like I spend my time well nowadays.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my transfers to open up a shoe business in Huruma Estate. I opened up this shoe business so I could have a means to sustain myself. I cleared my high school last year and I have been engaged in garbage collection and cleaning public bathrooms in my neighborhood. I do not make enough money from these engagements as at times the clients do not even pay me once I offer the services. I struggle to make ends meet that I am forced to accrue debts most of the time. I believe that with my own business, I will have a consistent means to sustain my income. I spent the remaining amount to pay my rent and to clear some debts I had accrued.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was very surprised when I received my transfers as I was not expecting such kind of money on that day. My alarm went off at 5:00 AM in the morning, and as I reached for my phone to switch off the alarm, I saw the message. I was very happy and shocked at the same time. I then took some time on my own just to think on how I would spend the transfers.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My too priority is to use the money to open a business of selling second hand clothes. For now am not sure of the location but am confident that the business will bring in capital and because am always updated with new trends and styles I will be able to curb a larger market. My second priority is to use the money to improve my life by buying household equipments and clothes for myself. Thirdly I want to save the money. By doing thus j can be able to start a family, marry and provide for them.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is not archiving my ambitions because, if am not able to live the life I want then I will not have enough money for my self and my family. And not having enough money gives me worry of not being able to marry and providing for my wife and children in the future.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My first ambition is to be a successful businessman. Through selling clothes and this way I can expand the business and even open other fashion shop outlets, upgrade from selling second hand clothes to even importing good quality clothes. And through this I can be able to improve my life and that of my family too.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
On my usual day I wake up early then go to school in Kiambu County. I spend my day there till evening since am a day scholar. I get to learn and currently am about to finish my final high school exams. Then on weekends I work at our group toilet by cleaning and that's how I get to make some money. On my free time I try to spend time with my friends play football, mingle and also visit my girlfriend.