GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Maurine's Profile
Maurine's family
Maurine
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
24
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($481 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent the transfer I received to buy building materials and pay contractors to build a new house to accommodate my bigger family and the rest I used to buy a sofa set to beautify my house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($491 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We spent our second transfer on making fishing boat and buying fishing nets. My husband is a fisherman and brings more income home now. He also bought two lambs and took to my parents as dowry.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is having our own fishing boat for fishing business.Before, my husband use to fish for other boat owners and come home with little money but now we can spend on food and save for other needs. I am also happy to be his legal wife after he took cows to my parents.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We bought a bed and matress for 6500 KES and paid school fees of 3000 KES for my children.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We are planning to make a fishing boat and buy fishing nets with the upcoming transfer payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the money to build a new house since my house is very small. secondly I would like to buy fishing boats to help us do fishing. Finally l would like to open up a business to generate income to support my family
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled to build our own house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is money to pay school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the is in the morning when all my family members are in good health.