chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Salome's Profile
Salome's family
Salome
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
48
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought matress 4000 KES, windows 4500 KES,cement 3000 KES, labuor charges 1500 KES
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes, I have new goal of building a pit latrine and cementing my mud house.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
We now live more comfortably and happily than before I received transfers from GD. We dress well, eat well and have major household items we have been lacking.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on paying school fees ksh 30000, bought steel door ksh 7000, 1 window ksh 3000, 1 sack of maize 2600, school shoes ksh 750, socks ksh 300 and used balance on food .
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen in my life is that now i feed and dress well.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on College fee for my child.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lump sum payment as College and secondary school fee for my children and also buying a little food
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on investing on my business of selling fish and also start a business of brick making so that I can earn more cash, I will also fence my farm so that I prevent cows and hippos from invading my farm and destroying my crops and also to start a business of rearing chicken for sale. I will use part of the cash to pay school fees for my children who are in college,secondary school and a local primary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that even though my income is low and I am a widow,I am able to invest in other income generating activities like saving and lending schemes which has enabled me to support my children financially.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that getting money is not easy with regard to my business of selling fish as fish stock has gone down and I get very little from it while I am being overburdened by school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to the lake in the morning to get fish from the fishermen and bring it home so that I can prepare it for sale,I feel happy when I got good fish at favorable prices that will give me profit that I can use to support my family.