GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Samuel's Profile
Samuel's family
Samuel
landscapeCountry:
uganda
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
Eastern Uganda
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
1449800 UGX ($400 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer on buying a cow and goats for rearing as an investment.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I couldn't facilitate my needs and those of my family since i didn't have a job however my life is now different in a way that i am now able to provide for my family because of the transfers I received.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion GD does well by sending the money in instalments as this helped us not to get overwhelmed and excited with such money (in millions) and it helped us plan for each transfer properly.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
1519800 UGX ($419 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my second transfer to buy a motorcycle, i needed an incoming generating source that i can manage personally so i bought a motorcycle and i ride it as bodaboda
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is getting daily income from the motorcycle. Thank you GD
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
405775 UGX ($118 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
Bought iron sheets, chairs, jerricans, sauce pans and plates
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Buy cement, bricks and start building
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to construct a metal house and get out of this grass thatched one with my wife.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is my wife because we pray in the same church and plan together as family
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I faced was dropping out of school in primary seven due to lack of fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is between 6 to 7 pm when I go to trading centre for social evenings normally chatting.