chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Reagan's Profile
Reagan's family
Reagan
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Reagan's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the transfer to build a spacious house so l bought 25 iron-sheets at 15000 kshs, timber at 4500 kshs, poles at 4800 kshs, nails 2600 kshs, labor-charge 4000 kshs, 1 sack on maize at 2800 kshs the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l am now staying in a specious house and eating well.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 7,500 KES on farming expenses and the rest on buying food stuffs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to construct a new house as the one am occupying is quite small and not enough for my family and our belongings and if some amount remains to buy a cow with that.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to spend the transfer to buy building materials which we will use to construct a house. We also plan to spend the transfer to pay dowry or bride price required by my in-laws. We also plan to spend the transfer to start a business that will provide us with income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have worked hard and managed to buy a sheep. I hope to sell it when she gives birth.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is when all my parents died and I was left with my siblings to take care of. My income is low and this makes it hard for me to cater for the needs of my family. I need to pay school fees, provide meals and clothing to my family but I don't have a stable income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am having supper with my family. I feel very happy because they always make me proud.