<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Olivia's Profile
Olivia's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Olivia's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on building an iron roofed house.I also paid school fees for my children and bought 2 sacks of maize.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a spacious house now which accommodates my properties well.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying a mattrees and a blanket.I also paid school fees for my children and bought maize for my family.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on building an iron roofed house.
access_time 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build iron roofed house which is more spaceies because our house is very small and leaking. Secondly l would like to open up a business to generate income to support my family. Finally l would like to buy oxen
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have worked hard and bought household items so that we do not keep on borrowing from others.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is poor source of income and illness which has been affecting both me and my husband.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest of the day is in the evening when telling stories with my children after a long day's work.