GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Nancy's Profile
Nancy's family
Nancy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
22
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Nancy's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I plastered the walls and floor of my main house with 29000 KES, I constructed a semi-permanent kitchen of 15 iron sheets with 16000 KES and I paid secondary school fees for son with the remaining 5000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am now having my own kitchen where I am now able to cook for my families at any time of the day and at all weather. Initially, cooking in open air-outside,was problematic since I could not cook when there is extreme weather events like cold, windy and and at high temperature, which could make us go without food, but this is no longer the same, the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer in farming activities. Used 4,500 KES to settle some debts. I also bought foodstuffs with the remaining portion.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement both walls and floor of my house because at the moment its earth. I'm also planning to pay my son in high school fee.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to start a small business selling cereals and the rest of the funds will deposited in a fixed deposit account, the deposited funds will be used to pay school fees for my children later on.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having given birth to three wonderful children who are my pride and joy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for myself, my spouse is my only source of income and if he loses his job we will have a difficult time catering for our family's needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday when I am done with all my farm work, I usually get to relax with my neighbours as we chat.