chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Janeth's Profile
Janeth's family
Janeth
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
25
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Janeth's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($532 USD)
access_time 18 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I build a better and spacious house for my family. We used to live in a small mud house which could not host all my family members comfortably. We could sleep in one room with grown-up children which is not good at all according to my culture. My children sometimes could go to spend the night at their grandmother's house and this was quite a distance and working late in the night in our area was not secure. Whenever I had visitors it was not easy because I could take them to spend the nights at the neighbor's and it was so embarrassing at the same time. Currently, I have a place for visitors and also for my children where they do their assignment and sleep well without any interruption.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment when I received my money I felt so happy. It was early in the morning when I got the message. My spouse was so happy too and from that point, everyone was awake in the family. I have never received such amount of money before and this was my biggest day ever. I knew that I would soon achieve my plans for building a better house for my family.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on renovating my house to look good. I also build an extension room for my children and visitors and the rest of the money I used it to buy food, school uniform and pay the school fees for my children.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Being a housewife, i have always wished to have my own income generating activity in order to support my husband in providing for the family. Receiving this money is therefore a dream come true since i will use it to build a poutry unit to keep commercial poultry then add one dairy cow to my herd which will boost milk supply for sale hence financial independence on my side
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening. This is the time my husband has arrived home from work and my children are back from school. I usually spend my day doing household chores and its only in the evening that i get time to spend with my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Inability to provide for my children's needs adequately is the biggest hardship i have faced in my life. My husband who is a motorcycle rider is the sole breadwinner in our family and we usually spend the money he earns daily on food. Sometimes my children fail to attend school like others since they spend most of their time home due to lack of school fees.I see my husband struggle alot but i hope our struggles will soon end immediately we receive our first transfer from GD since i plan to engage in income generating activities in order to support him.