chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Mariam's Profile
Mariam's family
Mariam
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
32
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mariam's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($532 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I started a small shop in my village through the money I received from GiveDirectly. I had desired to engage myself in business only that I was limited because of a lack of capital. When I received the money from GiveDirectly, I bought enough stock of different kinds of products to operate this shop. Investing KES 40000 in the starting of this business has been the biggest difference in my daily life because I now earn KES 2000 in a day. This is a big improvement because we had no source of income previously as we mainly depended on the casual jobs that my husband does to earn a living. Our income has greatly improved and at least we can meet our daily basic needs effectively.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I received my money late in the night as I was preparing for bed. I read the message on my phone and confirmed that I had finally received my transfer. I became very happy and thankful to Give Directly for the financial support from GiveDirectly. I never hoped that a day would come to achieve this dream of opening a shop.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent a larger portion of my first transfer to start a shop business, which to me is a source of income. We mainly depended on the little income that my husband is earning from casual jobs. It was not enough compared to the vast family needs. I invested Ksh 40000 in buying adequate stock and other essentials including furnishing the shop premises. Apart from starting a shop, I also bought a heifer at KES 12000 which I am rearing in my homestead. I plan to keep it and I am hoping that it will reproduce and have many of them soon. Also, I will be benefitting from the milk that it will be reproducing. I spent the small portion that remained to cater to my families basic needs like provision of food daily.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I used to own a mini shop that collapsed after I ran out of capital. Currently there is only one shop in my village and I see this as an opportunity to revive my business. Once I reopen it, I am sure of enough customers because people were already used to it. I also have good experience and I will be able to manage it well to maximize my profit. Besides, I will start a goat rearing project to generate more income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Water shortage has befallen my area since this year's rains failed. This means I have to walk for over 20 kilometres to get a jerrican of water. My day starts at around 3:00 am because I have to get home early, so that my children can use the same water to bath as they leave for school. Such a distance is enough to make someone bedridden but I walk it four times everyday. To make it worse, I also have other household duties to take care of. It is only in the evening when I get time to rest and also bond with my family, thus making it the happiest part of my day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My husband sells the local brew 'mnazi' to support a family of nine. I do not contribute anything to our finances since I am a housewife. This is a difficult situation that has reduced us to beggars because we are always asking for help from our neighbours. It is very shameful to live such a life and sometimes I feel that I have failed as a parent. My children do not enjoy quality life because of the low provision of basic needs. I can attribute my suffering to financial constraint that is as a result of lacking a stable source of income.