<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Peter's Profile
Peter's family
Peter
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
22
homeHousehold Size:
2
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Peter's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a semi-permanent house of 30 iron sheets with 45000 KES of my first lumpsum transfer, I spent 2800 KES on a goat and the remaining 2200 KES on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Initially, I lived in a single room, where I never enjoyed my privacy-we could not change clothing in front of our children since they could see us, however, we are now having changing rooms-bed rooms where we can now live with my wife with the privacy that we require the biggest difference in our daily lives.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer to buy mattress at 4000 kshs, l also bought goat at 2500 kshs the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to build comfortable spacious house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to construct a bigger house. I also plan to use the transfer to buy household items like furniture. I also plan to use part of the transfer to pay school fees for my university education. I have been forced to defer one academic year due to lack of fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to pay part of my school fees at the university. During holidays and vocations, I resort to fishing and save the little income that I get so as to aid in my education.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that have faced in life is when I lost my first born child through death. It was so painful because I couldn't afford better treatment for him.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I manage to get a small work that would enable me get some money.