<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Martha's Profile
Martha's family
Martha
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
64
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Martha's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to buy 2 sheep (7000), a cow (14000), wire mesh (2000), poles (5000), cement (2000), labor (5000), food (9800).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
GD has helped me build a poultry house that i shall use for poultry rearing as an income generating activity. I managed to pay fees for my grandchild and i have a number of livestock that will produce milk and young ones.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token to pay school fees (5000), 2 bags of cement (1700) and food (3200).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to use my upcoming lump-sum payment to repair my house, build a poultry house and pay secondary school fee for my child.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for my grandchildren. I also plan to spend the transfer to buy a bull that I will use to plough my farms.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to plaster my house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I don't have a stable source of income. Life sometimes become hard as I cannot manage to provide adequate food for my family. At times we spend the day without having a meal.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am having dinner with my children.