chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Florence's Profile
Florence's family
Florence
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
29
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Florence's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 iron sheets at 21,000 KES, 38 round poles for roofing at 6,460 KES, 24 wall round poles at 4,320 KES, nails at 1,500 KES, wooden door at 3,500 KES and labour at 7,000 KES to enable me construct my house. I also spent 3,500 KES on M-Kopa solar.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was living in a very small house with no proper ventilation and a very weak door. We feared for our security plus it could not comfortably contain my family and our belongings. Right now am living in a big and better house that has made me stop being the laughing stock in my community. The space is big enough for my children and I.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
Bought household items and paid school fees
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Build a house
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a bigger house for my family, I will pay school fees for children and I will also buy a goat.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have been able to build a small house that I can stay in.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I don't have a stable source of income so getting money to feed my family is a big challenge.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I clean my house in the morning so that it can be neat.