chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Carolyne's Profile
Carolyne's family
Carolyne
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
36
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($467 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
The furniture I had were not so nice and old-fashioned, so I bought very nice furniture using part of my third transfer and, I am happy my house looks like those of my other neighbors. Some amount I used to pay fees for my daughter in secondary school. I used to take loans from our table group to pay for her fees. This never happened as I paid the fees without having to take another loan. I am grateful for the money I received. Out of the whole amount I remained with some 2000 KES that I used to buy corn for my family consumes.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the whole of my second transfer to construct a new house. My old house had been blown away by the winds.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that i now have a house after the other one been blown away by the winds.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 5,500 KES to buy poles and 4,000 KES to pay school fees.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy more building materials and complete construction of my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to use part of the money to build a three roomed semi-permanent and use the remaining balance to pay school fees for my son who is in form one.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is buying household items out of my hardwork.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship am facing is I don't have a good house. When it rains the house leaks.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am my family wakes up alive and healthy.