GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Sarah's Profile
Sarah's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
Recipient hasn't spent the transfer yet.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of repairing and plastering my house.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I was able to pay school fees for my son and he's going to sit his O level exams.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid my daughter's 45,000 KES school fees. I spent the rest of the money on paying debt and buying food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The burden of school fees used to wear me down. I was losing weight over the anxiety of school fees. I'm glad the matter is resolved.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 8,000 KES to settle my daughter's school fees arrears. I also used the remaining amount to settle some debts.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to pay 45,000 KES fees to my daughter in high school. I'm also planning to purchase other household items with the remaining amount.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on clearing the school fees arrears that I have for my children, by next year when my child joins Form four in a local secondary school I will pay registration fee and school fees of Ksh. 45000 and when I get the transfe
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that when my husband died I did not know whether I will manage to take care of my family but I have managed to do so and that makes me proud.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that in our home that we are currently staying we don't have enough land and where I am going to move to I am not going to comfortable as we don't have enough land forcing us to rent even a farm so as to plan
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning feeling healthy and able to go and do some work so that I can support my family.