chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Teresa's Profile
Teresa's family
Teresa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Teresa's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid school fees 10000 KES, bought two sacks of maize 4800 KES, cement 8750 KES, labor charge 15000 KES, spent 9000 KES to start small a business and bought clothes with the rest of the transfer.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I have gained confidence because I have a source of income and a change in socio-economic status.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 6,800 KES to buy cushions for my seats, 2,000 KES to partly pay school fees (secondary school) and 800 KES to buy dry maize.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to enlarge my house and also buy cement to do plastering of the walls and the floor, buy some livestock and also continue paying school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to expand my house and but some livestock,then I will pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that through farming I am able to feed my family well.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is sickness which at times we are not able to get proper treatment.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am farming since I know I will harvest something at the end.