chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Benard's Profile
Benard's family
Benard
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
28
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Benard's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 12 days ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I am motorcyclist who dropped out of school at a tender age due to poverty.My parents work as casual workers at Olerai and Mara where they earn approximately KES 6000 a month.Being an adult now with 8 siblings , I had to establish a house of my own and be independent .Leaving in a grass thatched house is costly because the grass does not st long and hence it has to be replaced within a lifespan of three years. As you can see I replaced this roof in December and this cost me KES 3200 for the grass and KES1500 for labor cost. Receiving this money means I can build a house of 24 iron sheets at an approximate cost of KES 850 per iron sheet and KES 1000 for labor and nails.My plan is also to buy 2 dairy goats so that it can multiply and give me milk. Although am single I plan to get married in two years time because most of my age mates are already married.I shall use some of the money approximately KES 25000 to buy a cow that will be paid as dowry.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I spent the most part of my day in the transport sector.I transport people and luggage along Chebunyo, Transmara and Chebole road. I meet different kinds of people at this work, some very respectful and others disrespectful but due to my love for this job and the objective of earning a living I have learned to endure.Morning is the happiest part of my day because I get another chance to try my luck of putting food on my table.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I dropped out of school due to the financial constraints my parents had. Being a motorcycle rider was the only option I had because farming has been affected by the prolonged drought in this area. I was hired by a teacher to ride this bike and I get a weekly wage of KES 800 at most. Although I stay alone this amount is spent on food and clothing and hence I am unable to save anything for the future. This makes me much worried and afraid to start a family because am barely able to provide for myself. Financial constraint is the biggest hindrance in my life.