chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Florence's Profile
Florence's family
Florence
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
33
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Florence's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($516 USD)
access_time 16 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I learned I had deceived my transfer I felt so happy. I never thought I would get such a huge amount of money which is non-refundable.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is the fact that I am now a proud owner of a piece of land. Before GiveDirectly came into my life, I used to lease my neighbor's lands every planting season. This was expensive for me and sometimes I could not afford it. For now, its a relief because I will be saving the money that I have been using in leasing the farms and cater to my other household expenses.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent a huge part of my first transfer on buying a piece of land. This is what I have been desiring for so many years but that was not easy for me with the little income which I usually get from casual jobs. I also boosted my retail shop which was also collapsing as a result of utilizing the capital. Currently, I am getting some good returns after reviving it. The remaining amount of money, I bought enough foodstuffs for my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
It will mean an extra income for me and my family. I am currently running a food kiosk and is also a trained tailor. I plan to purchase a tailoring machine so that I put my skill into use and earn an extra income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am happiest in the morning when the day breaks. My afternoons are marred with economic activities thus making me feel weary. When I wake up, I feel refreshed and strong and that is what makes me happy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My house fell a year ago. I have not managed to build another due to financial constraints. My business is not generating enough income to do so and so at the moment, I reside at my business premise. As a woman, I desire to have my own house in my matrimonial home.