chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Stella's Profile
Stella's family
Stella
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Tailoring
faceAge:
35
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Stella's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($536 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily is that I managed to build a poultry house using the transfers I got from Give Directly. I think I can now do the poultry business in large scale because I built a big house. I am happy because I will not incur the losses which I use to incur previously. My eggs cannot be eaten by dogs and cats like before.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was so excited when I received the transfers. At first, I thought they were empty promises. I had doubts that someone can really help without expecting anything in return. I knew that my plans would be accomplished. I sat down and started budgeting how I would spend the money without wasting a penny.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent KES 15000 of my transfers to pay school fees for my child who is in college. Apart from that, I used the remaining KES 20000 to purchase iron sheets and timber for constructing a business premise that I plan to rent out to any potential entrepreneur. I also spent KES 15000 to build a poultry house. I had some chicken but didn't have a proper structure to house them. I then used the remaining amount to buy my clothes and a few for my children. I feel like I have done a lot in a very short time. I am very grateful to this organization for enabling me to achieve all this.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Since I am a tailor, I am planning to expand my tailoring business by buying more materials.More materials will help me train more students who at the end of it pay me for imparting them with the skills.I will also open a barber shop next to my tailoring shop.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My first morning duty is milking my cows.I then have breakfast and head to the shopping centre where I open my tailoring shop.This is where I spend most part of the day.This is the happiest part of my day since I put my skills into practice and at the same time interact with people.At the end of the day I do not go home empty handed.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
When I was sixteen years old I got pregnant which forced me to drop out of secondary school.After giving birth I felt ashamed going back to school since I already had a child.Two years later I joined a polytechnic to do tailoring which has since been my source of income.My dream was to complete secondary school and train as a teacher which I did not achieve.If I was a teacher I could be getting a higher income compared to now.This low income has made me struggle educating my two children.One is in university while the other is in primary school.It hasn't been easy being a mother at such an early age.I have really struggled considering that I am a single mother.