GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Irene's Profile
Irene's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Irene's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($481 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We spent on buying iron sheets, timber, poles and a cow for rearing. I was homeless living in my cowife's house but now free in my own homestead. I feel very free and safe in my new house that have built with GD transfers. I am also hoping to take good care of my cow to reproduce and provide me with milk.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is having my own house which I never knew I would build so soon. I am very peaceful and happy since I moved from my cowife's house to my own home. Thanks to GD
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying iron sheets and nails worth 9500KES and I also bought some building poles in preparation for building my new home in December.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to use my next transfer to build anew home for me and my family in December I want to move out of my father in law's homestead and be independent.
access_time 7 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy some building materials like iron sheets and timber that I will use in future when I'm establishing my house.I am also planning to buy a water tank that will tap rain water for drinking and cooking.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I would say,my proudest achievement is owning a house and being a responsible mother of two children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is how to access clean drinking and cooking water since water scarcity is a big issue in this area.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I'm having breakfast with my two little kids.