chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Winnie's Profile
Winnie's family
Winnie
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
24
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Winnie's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 32 iron sheets at 22,400 KES, 30 roofing poles at 4,800 KES, 45 wall poles at 3,375 KES, one still door at 7,500 KES, nails at 2,500 KES, one mattress at 4,000 KES, bought clothes for the family at 1,200 KES, used 4,200 KES to repair our motorbike.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am no longer have the shame of welcoming friends and visitor into my house because it's more spacious and decent.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on motor bike repairs ksh 4000 , ksh 3000 on debt clearance and the remaining part on buying food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
planning to build a big extended spacious house
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer to improve my home by constructing a new house because this one is very small. I am also planning to open a shop and stock it so that it can serve customers who stay around my compound.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proud of owning a mortobike because my spouse has been using it to transport customers from the village to kendu town.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship has been to live in a smaller house because even as I speak, some of my household items are in my mother in law's house.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when eating supper together with my family because I feel excited as I watch my spouse and my kid enjoy a good meal before they go to bed.