chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Cheruiyot's Profile
Cheruiyot's family
Cheruiyot
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
30
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Preparing Payments
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Cheruiyot's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 days ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My ambition is to be a successful gospel musician. I have been told I have a talent in singing and I want to make use of it in future. Having a nice song with good production and video requires capital which o don't have. So I am forced to put my dreams aside and focus on how I can get an income to support my family. This transfer will first be used in ensuring all the basic needs in my household are met. That includes building a better house since the one we currently live in is small, also my first born is almost joining school and I have to pay school fees to ensure he starts off well for his future. After all these needs are met then I will embark on my singing caterer.
What is the happiest part of your day?
On my usual day I wake up early go look for work either in a farm or in town where there are construction jobs. Each time I get picked for a job is when am mostly happy because I know I will get an income out of it and pay my bills.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is unemployment. After finishing my secondary school my parents didn't have money to take me to collage and opted for me to start hustling. I have been doing casual jobs since then which include working in people's farms within the village and get paid $2 as well as in house construction in the nearby villages. On a good month if I get a house construction job I get paid $50 that has to cater for food, savings and clothing for my family. Depending on that income alone is not reasonable for my family size.