GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Pamela
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
44
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($467 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I have two children, one in a secondary school and the other one in a primary school. Their arrears had accumulated to a huge amount that I was even worried how I would clear them but fortunately I got my third transfer that enabled me to clear them, allowing the students to settle in class and continue with their education!
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($482 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on paying school fee for my children so that they are not sent home due to fee arrears. I also bought clothes for my children as they were wearing rugged and the remaining cash I spent on buying food to feed my family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I don't have to struggle to feed and provide for my family as now I have transfer. My children also can attend their studies without any limitation and this bring peace in my life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 5,000KES on paying school fees for my 2 children, paid 3,000KES debt and 2,000KES on foodstuffs and household items.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I have had a problem with irrigating my crops, I therefore wish to buy a water pump and a generator for watering my vegetables. I also hope to construct a kitchen so that I stop cooking outside.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer to buy a water pump and pipes to start practicing horticultural farming as a means of livelihood. I am also planning to spend my transfer to pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is just the little subsistence farming I am doing, and which gives my family food.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am facing is lack of money to pay school fees for my children because I don't have any reliable source of income, and all the children are looking up to me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am praying to God and getting ready to retire to bed for the night.