chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Onyango's Profile
Onyango's family
Onyango
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
25
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Onyango's next check-in.
 
8th Payment
Transfer Amount
2280 KES ($23 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
My life is now different in that I now have comfortable sofa seats and a mattress. I now sleep well unlike before, the mattress was worn out and thin. It felt like sleeping on a bed without a mattress. I could wake up so tired with a backache which is no longer the case given that I have a new mattress.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
Currently, I have no new goals apart from the plan I had of building a bigger house to enhance the comfort of space. I will move on with the plan as I had set before to completion.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
Upon receiving my transfer, I bought a new mattress and a set of sofas. I have been sleeping on an old and thin mattress. One could think I was sleeping on a bed without a mattress. This caused me to have backaches but now that I was able to buy a new mattress, I enjoy my sleep and I no longer experience the backaches. The sofas I had were also old and broken, this did not paint a good picture whenever I had visitors around so I decided to replace them with new ones. Now my living room looks beautiful and I can comfortable welcome visitors at any time.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I have been buying building materials. In the next six months, I will have built a bigger house which can host my family. This will enable us to enjoy the comfort of space.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
4560 KES ($45 USD)
access_time 10 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I was able to buy a few household items such as a new sofa-set in addition to buying a ploughing hoe.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
My wife and I will be able to start a business so that we will not rely on other people to give us employment opportunities.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is now different because I am able to make financial plans without any problems.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I am aiming at going to college if at all I will be able to save extra cash that will enable me get enough cash that can pay the fees for the rest of the days.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that i have faced is not having a reliable source of income to enable me to provide for my family's needs. For a very long time, both my mother and wife were very sick and they had to be admitted at the hospital.So much money was needed for their treatment but my income was not enough.They had to be detained at the hospital even after getting well so that the bill could be cleared and this hurt me alot.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening after completing my work in the farm and i am able to meet with my friends at our nearest center and watch football which is my favourite game.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying fees for my diploma course in education so that i can be able to get a stable job with the government to enable me take care of my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that i am proudest of was being able to complete my certificate course in education amidst so many challenges of not being able to raise school fees on time.