GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Ruth's Profile
Ruth's family
Ruth
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
39
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Ruth's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a house with the entire lumpsum transfer.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am now living in a bigger semi permanent house unlike before receiving transfers.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the whole of my token payment on timber that I will use to construct my main house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will complete my main house using my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a bigger house of three rooms as the one I stay in is two rooms as I will buy thirty iron sheets and some bags of cement that will be used. I will also spend part of the transfer on buying seeds for maize, tomatoes and pesticides that will be used in our farm. The remaining amount I will spend on paying school fees for my kids who are in primary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that we have managed to maintain our farm which enabled us to pay school fees for our two kids who finished high school and are waiting to join college.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that farming is not easy and we don't have enough funds that we can use to hire ploughing machines like a tractor hence we really do a lot of manual work so that we can plant our crops. At times my kids are sent home for school fees and as our farm depends on the rains so we really face a challenge when it comes to getting school fees during the dry season as we don't have any produce to sell.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is that when I wake up in the morning, I go out to plough and do weeding of my farm so that in the end we are able to have some food that we can eat as a family.