chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Phoebe's Profile
Phoebe's family
Phoebe
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
67
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Phoebe's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($548 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I do not borrow money anymore and I do not ask my children for money too for my medication because I used part of the money to buy the medication that I need to take daily.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received my money I felt so grateful because it's been long since I handled such an amount of money. I thanked for the blessing.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of the money I received from GiveDirectly to fix windows and doors in my house that I had built some years back but I ran out of cash. My child too had a school fee balance so part of the money I spent on clearing the school fee. I also bought medication that will last me for more than a month because I have high pertension.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in my life is that I am suffering from high blood pressure and getting medication is a challenge due to the fact that I do not have a stable source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I go to my farm to take care of my napier grass. This makes me happy because it is my source of income.
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means that I will be able to complete the construction of my house and also pay school fees for my child who is in secondary school.