chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Sharon's Profile
Sharon's family
Sharon
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
House construction
faceAge:
24
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Sharon's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($489 USD)
access_time 11 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The pop-up on my phone displayed just enough information to confirm the receipt of my first transfer. I was very happy with this news as the night before that morning was the hardest for me. We almost slept without the evening meal with my child and in the morning we had exhausted almost all household utilities as my child had to take morning tea that had no sugar. I could not doubt that message as I had been anticipating that within the range of the dates that we were given during enrollment. I had to visit the nearest shopping center where I managed to withdraw and purchase household foodstuff.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is the renewed hope of picking the construction of my new house. The first step of purchasing enough iron sheets gave me a great feeling as this was the beginning of the work that I have always hoped for. This will not only be providing a decent shelter but also create enough space for my growing family and also enhance the collection of the rainwater from the roof.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Going out every morning in search of casual labor to ensure that I provide food for my children has never been easy. At some point, I could go for days without securing one and this would always push me to borrow from the shops, friends, and also from the family members that later get difficult to pay them back. On receiving the first transfer, I needed to start a poultry project that will at least earn me an extra income every day through the sale of eggs and even chicks. I spent KES4500 on obtaining 10 mature chickens that are now laying eggs. I also obtained a piece of new furniture at an equivalent cost of KES4500 to add to the single bench that I have been having in my household. I have always borrowed some from my neighbors whenever I have visitors and by obtaining an additional three-seater and a table, I am confident to have more than ten people seated in my house. During the enrollment period, I had a wider scope of ensuring that I construct a new house to replace the two small ones that are currently getting older especially on the roof since they are both grass-thatched. I managed to purchase 25 iron sheets at KES18750. I also settled school fees for my child currently in a private school worth KES15000. With the remaining KES10000, I sought medical attention since I was not feeling well when I received this first transfer.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have a family of four, with two young children. We all share one house which is too small for us. With this money, I plan to construct a three-roomed iron-roofed house. It will help me harvest rainwater for domestic use. Constructing the house will cost me approximately KES 40,000. It will go a long way in making my family stay in comfortable housing. Currently, I do not own any dairy cow, I purchase milk costing me KES 1000 per month. This is a lot considering apart from my husband's casual job, we do not have any other source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My day starts at 6 a.m. I prepare breakfast and take my children to school. The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I'm done with the day's work. I get to rest, have a nap together with my small children. My day is usually spent doing house chores and looking after the family's farm animals.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Financial constraints have been the biggest hardship. My husband who is the breadwinner is a casual laborer. His job is unstable as it is not assured that he gets some work each day. I do not have any income-generating activity. The little he earns (KES 10,000 per month) all goes to catering food. We hardly save for other needs.