GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Janet's Profile
Janet's family
Janet
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
20
workCampaign
UBI
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($246 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
check
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
Currently, my life is totally different as I have a fall back plan whenever I have any financial constraints. I was able to venture into vegetable farming as a long term investment so as to sail my family through times even if the transfers are over. I do bi-weekly harvests which I give to retailers and this helps in generation of income to take us through the week. With the income I get, the family is able to have food on the table on a daily basis, have clothes to put their backs and even be able to take care of other pressing needs easily without having to borrow cash from relatives or friends.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
I have a plan for buying more building materials like cement and sand to plaster my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
The biggest in my daily life is that I was able to buy sofa seats yo furnish my house. I used to own plastic chairs which were not so comfortable enough for my visitors. I am glad that now my visitors can now sit on the comfortable sofa seats whenever they give me a visit. Apart from that, my house now look so presentable as I furnished it the way I have always dreamt of.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
At the end of this period, I expect to have bought the building materials remaining and possibly plastered the house. I believe it will be a very beautifully completed house that will be the envy of the entire village and I cannot thank GD enough for making this dream come true.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($253 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that, l now have more secured house as compared to before when l was worried that somebody could kick the door. I am also very sure of plastering my house and l would no longer go to people's home looking for cow dang.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months l expect to have completed plastering my house and staying in like other people l am seeing around me. I will also have enough vegetable in my farm to sell to the community and get enough profit that l can spent to settle my bills.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from how it was four months ago because l now have a well secured house that does not stress me at all. I am also very sure that l will no longer go to people's home looking for cow dang.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My additional goal after plastering my house is to improve my farming to large scale. This will give me enough produce that l will sell to the community and get enough money for my up keep.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is acute illness. I have of late been suffering from congested thoracic problems. My desire to work and support my family has been affected. Psychologically, I have also been affected especially by the severe pains. Life has not been easy during these trying moments.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon after taking lunch. I get time to story to rest and share stories with my neighbours.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend my transfer on starting a small business. My husband is the sole bread winner in my household. We shall put our transfer together and start a business of selling clothes. We expect to earn a profit that will supplement my husband's income from fishing activity. From that we can will shift from rented house to building our own home where we can stay peacefully. This will be a milestone step in our life.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of would be educating my younger sister. Before I got married, I was doing fish mongering business and from that I managed to pay secondary school fees for my sister. She managed to finish successfully and she is now working with one of the biggest organizations. I am proud of that because I changed someone's life positively from my small business.